Thursday, November 23, 2006

17th Annual SOCAN Awards

The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN), held the 17th annual SOCAN awards at The Carlu in Toronto last night. Awards were handed out in 16 categories including a Lifetime Achievement Award to Kate and Anna McGarrigle, and International Achievment Award to Finger Eleven and a National Achievement Award to Jann Arden.

Other notable winners included Michael Buble, Avril Lavigne, Leanne Rhimes and Nickelback. As well SOCAN classic awards went to the Stampeders for Devil You, Nick Gilder for Hot Child in the City, and Roxy Roller and The Powder Blues Band for Doin' It Right.

A complete list of the winners can be found here, and pictures here.

No comments: